Updated at 18:18,16-07-2018

European Parliament approves new Delegation for Relations with Belarus


The European Parliament voted on Thursday to approve a new membership list for its Delegation for Relations with Belarus.

Representing the European Parliament`s group of the European People`s Party in the new Delegation are Sweden`s Christofer Fjellner, Poland`s Agnieszka Kozlowska-Rajewicz and Bogdan Andrzej Zdrojewski. The Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats is represented by Latvia`s Andrejs Mamikins, Jens Nilsson of Sweden and Patrizia Toia of Italy, while the European Conservatives and Reformists are represented by Valdemar Tomasevski of Lithuania and Poland`s Kazimierz Michal Ujazdowski. The Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe is represented by Nils Torvalds of Sweden, the Greens/European Free Alliance by Lithuania`s Bronis Rope and Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy by Iveta Grigule of Latvia.

The new Delegation will hold its first meeting to elect its head and deputy heads at the beginning of October.

The Delegation for Relations with Belarus has existed in the European Parliament for more than a decade. In June 2012, Poland’s Filip Kaczmarek became its chairperson. He lost his seat in the European Parliament as a result of the May 22-25 elections.