Updated at 17:46,10-07-2018

Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia Creating Equivalent of European Commission


Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia intend to set up the Eurasian Economic Commission for Europe (EEC), which will become a permanent supranational authority of the Customs Union and Common Economic Space. In addition to the Customs Union functions (customs and tariff regulation, customs administration, technical regulation), EEC will receive a number of new powers.

In particular, the Eurasian Economic Commission will deal with the establishment of trade regimes with third countries, monetary, macroeconomic, energy and competition policy, regulation of state monopolies, industrial and agricultural issues, procurement, transport, migration, financial markets and "other areas."

As expected, the commission will consist of the Council and the Board, each member of which will have one vote. The Council consists of one representative from each EES member-country. They should be deputy heads of their states’ governments. The Board, which is the executive body, will include three representatives from each member-country.

Commission's budget is going to be formed by member-countries assessed contributions, which are determined in proportion to the norms of customs duties distribution. Thus, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia will have equal votes, while the Russian Federation will take up the bulk of costs.

Russian is Commission's Working Language

The text of the treaty to be adopted later this year, will also be in Russian only. The EEC seat is not yet defined.

Presidency of the Council shall be held alternately in a single year. Belarus should become the first presiding country. All decisions of the board are taken by consensus. If agreement is not reached, then the consideration of the issues may be referred to the supreme Eurasian Economic Council.

The Commission takes its decisions by consensus or by a qualified majority of two thirds, that is, in fact, resolution of the Board may be taken by representatives of the two countries, despite claims of a third country.

All the decisions are "included in a legal base of the CU and the CES" and are directly applicable in their territory. EEC will also have the right to request information "from natural and legal persons," unless it is contrary to national law.

Commission members are irremovable for four years and are formally independent of the national enforcement authorities. They will possess immune status of federal minister, an annual 45-day leave, welfare, health, transport, housing and maintenance services using budget funds, as well as ministerial benefits to their pensions.

President of Belarus Alexander Lukashenko believes that the new wave of economic crisis, increasingly predicted by international analysts, can only be confronted jointly. "Consolidation of efforts, as well as vigorous development of the integration of the former Soviet Union, is our response to this challenge," he stressed.

"It’s impossible to move forward without the support of strong allies and partners in today's world. Therefore, Belarus has always been the initiator and active participant in the integration processes, especially in the Euro-Asian region," said the president.