Updated at 17:11,20-07-2018

Two of Four Opposition Nominees Included in Minsk City Election Commission


Two of the four nominees of opposition political parties have been included in the Minsk city election commission for the April 25 local elections, Vadzim Kanapatski, deputy chairman of the Minsk city organization of the Belarusian Popular Front (BPF), told BelaPAN.

Membership in the commission was granted to Syarhey Alfer, a member of the Political Council of the United Civic Party, and Syarhey Vaznyak, spokesman for the "Spravedlivy Mir" (Just World) Belarusian Party of the Left, Mr. Kanapatski said.

Membership was denied to Uladzimir Labkovich, a member of the BPF, and Yury Chavusaw, a member of Adradzhenne, a non-governmental organization affiliated with the BPF.

Membership was granted to representatives of the pro-government Communist Party of Belarus, Liberal Democratic Party, Party of Labor and Justice and Belarusian Social Sports Party.