Updated at 17:11,20-07-2018

72 Representatives of Opposition Parties Included in District Election Commissions


Seventy-two representatives of opposition political parties have been included in district election commissions for the April 25 local elections, Mikalay Lazavik, secretary of the central election commission, told BelaPAN on Tuesday.

As many as 367 district election commissions have been formed. They have a total of 4,542 members, who include 527 civil servants, 467 people under 30 years of age and 2,944 women, according to Mr. Lazavik.

As many as 43 percent of the commissions' members were nominated by non-governmental organizations, 18.2 percent by "workers' collectives" and 6.7 percent by political parties, and 32.1 percent sought membership through the collection of voter signatures, Mr. Lazavik said.

As for opposition parties, membership in commissions was granted to 48 nominees of the "Spravedlivy Mir" (Fair World) Belarusian Party of the Left, 14 nominees of the United Civic Party, six nominees of the Belarusian Popular Front, three nominees of the Belarusian Social Democratic Hramada, and one nominee of the Hramada Belarusian Social Democratic Party, Mr. Lazavik said.

As many as 175 commission members were nominated by the Communist Party of Belarus, 19 by the Belarusian Agrarian Party, 16 by the Liberal Democratic Party, 12 by the Party of Labor and Justice, five by the Social Democratic Party of People's Concord, and three by the Belarusian Social Sports Party, Mr. Lazavik said.

Parties nominated more people to district election commissions than to territorial commissions, he noted.
District commissions include 701 nominees of the Federation of Trade Unions of Belarus, 332 nominees of the Belarusian National Youth Union, 319 nominees of a pro-government NGO called Belaya Rus, 225 nominees of the Belarusian Veterans’ Association and 218 nominees of the Belarusian Women’s Union.